stone

Use this forum to suggest Good Words for Professor Beard.
aviatrix
Junior Lexiterian

stone

Postby aviatrix » Sun Aug 20, 2006 3:13 pm

As an engineer and pilot, I am often involved with problems concerning mass and weight. Stone, as used to mean 14 pounds, always intrigued me, mostly from an etymological and cultural standpoint. Great Britain uses it, but was it ever common in the United States?

Perry
Great Grand Panjandrum

Postby Perry » Mon Aug 21, 2006 9:13 am

I don't recall it being used as a weight in the US; but the word figures into a lot of slang.

Stone cold.
Stone crazy.
Getting stoned.
Etc.
"Time is nature's way of keeping everything from happening all at once. Lately it hasn't been working."
Anonymous

Bailey
Great Grand Panjandrum

Postby Bailey » Mon Aug 21, 2006 12:44 pm

but it's alright ma, everyone must get stoned.

mark from-an-embarrassing-incident-in-my-youth Bailey

Today is the first day of the rest of your life, Make the most of it...
kb

Stargzer
Great Grand Panjandrum

Postby Stargzer » Mon Aug 21, 2006 1:16 pm

So, you weren't bleeding on that rainy day?
Regards//Larry

"To preserve liberty, it is essential that the whole body of the people always possess arms, and be taught alike, especially when young, how to use them."
-- Attributed to Richard Henry Lee

Palewriter
Lexiterian

Postby Palewriter » Mon Aug 21, 2006 1:33 pm